Champions for a Cause - Charity Golf Match gets a nerve ending finish at Delhi Golf Club

Champions for a Cause - Charity Golf Match gets a nerve ending finish at Delhi Golf Club

Four athletes from two sports (Cricket and Golf) came together to play an 18-hole exhibition golf match at DGC with a noble cause of raising funds for the frontline warriors of COVID-19.

Four players were divided into two teams for a charity golf match. Team 1 consisted of Kapil Dev and Gaganjeet Bhullar and while Team 2 had Murali Kartik and Shubhankar Sharma.
Now, team one led from start after both players of team two got bogey in the first hole for +1 while, team one was the opening leader by scoring an even-par and after the end of first nine, team two were leading by one stroke at -2 and team 2 was behind at -1. And the best score of the first nine was Sharma’s 36.

Both teams started back nine with a birdie, Sharma scored a birdie for his team and team one’s Bhullar missed the birdie and got an even-par so, his teammate Dev took the charge by scoring his first birdie of the tournament. For the next two holes, both teams were unable to achieve an under-par score as team 1 remained at -2 and team 2 at -3. In hole 13, team two missed the birdie and team one took the advantage as both Dev and Bhullar got birdies to move -3 and make it all square. In the fifth hole of back nine, team 1 came back to the lead after team one’s Bhullar got a birdie in par-5 14th. Scores remained unchanged in hole 15 because both teams got even-par scores.
Now, team two’s Kartik and Sharma were really struggling to get a single birdie in second nine and finally after six holes, team two got their second birdie of back nine through Kartik in hole 16 and this again tied the score at -4.
Last two-hole drama:
As we move towards the end, team two’s Kartik provided a great start by getting a birdie on hole 17th to move -5 and have a one-stroke lead over team one’s Dev and Bhullar. It was now or never for team 1 and boy they delivered as both Dev and Bhullar got birdies on par-5 18th to tie the score at -5 and now, the improbable happened, as both players of team 2, missed birdies in the last hole, where Sharma and Kartik got an even-par and bogey respectively.

The amazing pair of Kapil Dev and Gaganjeet Bhullar fought till the end and saved the match for a worthy draw. The legendary Kapil Dev was so focused in his last nine that, he not only got three birdies in it but also improved from his first nine score of 39 to back nine’s 37.
On the other side, team 2 had an exceptional start where they got an outright lead of one stroke in the first nine but in the second nine, fans didn’t saw the same intensity between Murali Kartik and Shubhankar Sharma and the pair had to settle for a draw.

The Champions for a Cause – Charity Golf Match was played on 11th July at Delhi Golf Club.


Connect to Us:

July 11, 2020 - By Dhruv Trivedi

India's Arjun Atwal scores 6 under 66 in round 3 of Rocket Mortgage Classic

India's Arjun Atwal scores 6 under 66 in round 3 of Rocket Mortgage Classic

Arjun Atwal was on fire today as he hammered 7 birdies and one eagle in round 3.

In round two, Atwal got a good score of three under par and today he stumbled, when he got a bogey of the second hole but after that Atwal rarely got a loose shot as the West Bengal born golfer got his first birdie of the day in hole 3 and from there on it was never looking back as he got two more birdies and one eagle to end first nine at -4. Now, first nine's four under par helped him to jump 43 places high to T12 from round two's T55.
Atwal missed birdies in first two holes (hole 10 and 11) of second nine and his first birdie of second nine came in the 12th hole followed by one more in 14th hole and for the next two holes, Atwal got even-par scores to stay at eleven under par for a T3.

The most amazing thing happened in the very next hole (17), when Atwal got his seventh birdie of the round which boosted him to move in the top of the leaderboards at T1 and for the first time in a while, Atwal was leading in a PGA Tour event and in just 17 holes, his score improved rapidly from round two's -3 to -7 which was fantastic.

Now, Atwal twice got bogey in final hole of round one and two so, the biggest fear of his fans came true in round three's hole 18, when he got a bogey in the final hole and for the third successive time, Atwal ended his round with a bogey and due to this, Atwal slipped sixteen places back to T17 from leading the tournament and finishing round three at 6 under 66 for a total score of -11.
Arjun Atwal might go up in leaderboard because still a large no. of players are completing their rounds so, his current position of T17 might improve as the round progresses.
In 2004, Arjun Atwal made history when, he became the first Indian origin golfer to get a PGA Tour card and 6 years later, he became the first Indian golfer to win a PGA Tour event (Wyndham Championship 2010) and today, 10 years later, after his maiden victory, Atwal has a great opportunity to create history by becoming two-time PGA Tour winner.


Connect to Us:

July 05, 2020 - By Dhruv Trivedi

Former Cricketers Kapil Dev and Murali Kartik to play a golf exhibition match at Delhi Golf Club

Former Cricketers Kapil Dev and Murali Kartik to play a golf exhibition match at Delhi Golf Club

Delhi Golf Club to host an 18-hole COVID Relief Exhibition Golf Match on 11 July. 

The event is supported by NGO Magic Bus and Chennai based golf administrator Dilip Thomas is the lead donor for this fundraiser. The exhibition match will feature four players from two sports, playing as partners and the four sports person are:

1. Kapil Dev
2. Murali Kartik

1. Shubhankar Sharma
2. Gaganjeet Bhuller.

Even though Kapil Dev and Murali Kartik are former cricketers still, they are very much into Golf.
Kapil Dev a member at DGC, is playing golf regularly after retiring from cricket in 1994 and last year, he won an event in AVT Champions tour and also played an exhibition match with West Indies cricketing legend Brian Lara on the same course.
Murali Kartik who played professional cricket for India from 2000 to 2007 has found a new passion for golf and like Kapil Dev, he also plays golf frequently.


Connect to Us:

June 07, 2020 - By Dhruv Trivedi

View more ....

Copyright © 2020 DKT Sports. All Rights Reserved.  |  Sitemap