A Tame Clash of Titans

A Tame Clash of Titans

Saina Nehwal on Saturday defended her Senior National's Title defeating compatriot PV Sindhu 21-18, 21-15 in straight sets at Guwahati. In the repeat of last edition's final in Nagpur, Sindhu proved of no match to the 2012 Olympic Bronze medallist. Playing for her fourth National title, Nehwal had it easy as Sindhu failed to match her opponent with her strokemaking. Such was Saina's brute that the match lasted just over 30 minutes.

Sindhu started the game in a fine fashion as she raced to a 3-0 lead in no time but what followed was an exemplary display of the game from Saina as she quickly made amends to make the scoreline 5-5. The game went neck to neck till the mid break in the first game with Nehwal leading 11-10. She soon upped the ante to lead 18-15, but Sindhu tried her best to force her way back into the game only to concede it 18-21. As in the first game, Sindhu started off in a beautiful way leading 5-3 but failed to sustain her rhythm as Saina went into the break with a 11-9 lead. Saina continued her ruthless play after the break as Sindhu failed to find answers to her powerful smashes, only to bring a tame end to the much anticipated Clash of Titans.

-By Abhijit Nair

February 16, 2019 in Badminton

Tvesa Malik wins at Kensville 2019

Tvesa Malik wins at Kensville 2019

In Hero Women's Pro Golf Tour 2019 - Leg 3, Tvesa Malik captures her first win of the tour and she finished with a final aggregate score of 216. The three day event came to end today with Tvesa wining it and defending champion Gursimar Badwal finishing fourth this time and the Kensville returned to the Women’s Circuit after one year of absence.

Tvesa led from the start till the end as she was untouched through-out three days period and led the leader boards from Round 1 to Final Round and she was the only player who managed to stay inside even par for first two rounds with scores like even par and one under par for Round one and Round two and her final round was perfect but unlike her first two rounds where she managed minimum of three birdies but not this time as Tvesa managed only one birdie and gave away two bogeys in the first nine (hole seven and eight respectively) which costed her an ad of par in the total score which made her finish at plus one for round three apart from this she had an amazing Tournament.
Leg 1’s winner Neha Tripathi got the tournaments only eagle at the 14th hole and this tournament’s most talked player Gursimar Badwal played really good because of her competitive nature Badwal but then to she failed to win here and finished fourth and she was the winner of previous tournament at Pune, Oxford Golf Resort where she was on fire with rounds like 68 stunning right, that’s how she is.

Anisha Padukone’s story was a reverse of Tvesa as Padukone had average first two rounds with 86, 85 and in the third round she improved drastically by getting three birdies and eight even pars to finish with an unbelievable score of 76 and which made her rank push four places high from 13 (Round 1) to 17 in final round which is phenomenal performance and she finished with an aggregate score 247 and 31 over par. After end leg two we have three different winners Neha Tripathi, Gursimar Badwal, Tvesa and Amandeep Drall is leading the Hero Order of Merit 2019 after two runner up finishes in Leg 2 and 3 and a fourth place finish in Leg 1 and she is still finding her first win after missing out first three legs of the season.

List of Hero Order of Merit 2019:

Name                                        Total winnings        Played      Legs Won
1 Amandeep Drall                     272000                     3               -
2 Neha Tripathi                         266400                     3               1
3 Gursimar Badwal                   246400                     3               1
4 Tvesa Malik                            208000                     2               1
5 Siddhi Kapoor                        168800                      3               -
6 Afshan Fatima                        160800                     3               -
7 Gaurika Bishnoi                      134400                     2               -
8 Khushi Khanijau                     111600                      3               -
9 Ananya Datar                         106400                      2              -
10 Diksha Dagar                       102400                      1               -
11 Jyotsana Singh                     98000                        3               -
12 Millie Saroha                         93600                        2               -
13 Smriti Mehra                        85600                        3               -
14 Suchitra Ramesh                 6400                         2               -
15 Sifat Alag                            62400                         3                -
16 Ayesha Kapur                     39200                         3               -
17 Mehar Atwal                       37200                          3               -
18 Sonam Chugh                    36800                          3               -
19 Ishvari Prasanna                33600                          2               -
20 Anisha Padukone               31200                          1               -
21 Anousha Tripathi                 28800                         2               -

The said tournament was played on Kensville Golf Course, Ahmedabad from 4th to 7th February 2019 and the next tournament will be played on Kalhaar Blues & Greens, Ahmedabad from 12th to 15th February, until then good bye.

February 08, 2019 in Women's Golf

Draw announced by Davis Cup for Group 1 and 2

Draw announced by Davis Cup for Group 1 and 2

ITF today announced Davis Cup draw in the ITF office London which will decide who will play against whom.
48 teams were placed in two groups and from it 24 will compete with each other in two groups respectively with three sub groups in it where teams will fight each other depending on their region, namely America, Asia/Oceanic and Europe/Africa group.
The 12 Group I winners will advance to the 2020 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifiers, the 12 Group I losers will compete in the Group action in 2020.

The format will remain unchanged from the trials introduced in 2018, with ties being made up of four singles rubbers and one doubles rubber contested over two days.
Speaking at the draw, ITF President David Haggerty said: "The nations competing in the Davis Cup Group ties will put it all on the line as they look to move up the Davis Cup ladder. Competing for your country remains a special privilege enjoyed by a select few. I have no doubt that the players will compete with intense pride and passion in the April and September Davis Cup ties."
Here are the match-ups:

Group I

Americas Group I
Brazil v Barbados
Venezuela v Ecuador
Uruguay v Dominican Republic
Asia/Oceania Group I
Pakistan v India
Lebanon v Uzbekistan
China v Korea, Rep.
Europe/Africa Group I
Bosnia and Herzegovina v Czech Republic
Sweden v Israel
Finland v Austria
Hungary v Ukraine
Slovakia v Switzerland
Belarus v Portugal
Group II
Americas Group II
El Salvador v Peru
Paraguay v Mexico
Guatemala v Bolivia
Asia/Oceania Group II
Thailand v Philippines
Indonesia v New Zealand
Hong Kong, China v Chinese Taipei
Europe/Africa Group II
Romania v Zimbabwe
South Africa v Bulgaria
Denmark v Turkey
Morocco v Lithuania
Egypt v Slovenia
Norway v Georgia.

February 06, 2019 in Tennis

View more older blog....

Copyright © 2015 DKT Sports. All Rights Reserved.  |  Sitemap