England are the Champions of the World 

After 9 years England got the feeling of winning a world cup again and today they did it by winning their second world cup in all formats (T20 & Odis) and first one in One Day international.


At 10:15 New Zealand won the toss and was it right to ball first and yes it was but New Zealand scored an average score of 240 which was definitely not enough but still they tried best in bowling with Jimmy Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme and getting three wicket each as Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root and Eoin Morgan got out within forty runs so, losing four top order batsmen was hard to digest for 
England but they were saved by a game changing partnership of 110 runs between Ben Stokes and Jos Butler which eventually led them to first world cup super over.
Stokes remained not out throughout the innings for scoring 84 runs of 98 balls and seeing this performance made Captain Eoin Morgan confident for letting him bat in super over where he scored eight runs from England scored 15 and this additional runs to make him finish a to a total of 92 (84+8) runs in the final.

Kane Williamson played a gamble by sending James Neesham in the super over with Martin Guptill and this move was almost a success when he hit huge six off Jofra Archer but then also the Kiwis missed out for the win by just one run following a run out where Neesham ran one run and was going for the second but got out and guess what New Zealand tied even in the super over but a less no. boundaries made them miss a great opportunity of lifting the cup.
New Zealand got something home after Kane Williamson won the player of the tournament award over Rohit Sharma and Shakib Al Hassan who scored more run then the Kiwi Skipper with Sharma scoring 648 and Hassan scoring 606 runs.

After 1992 New Zealand finally have won Man of the Tournament award and last time a Kiwi player this won this award was former Black Caps skipper Martin Crowe for scoring 456 runs and 27 years later another Kiwi Captain won this prestigious award for scoring 578 runs and 122 more than Crowe.
Talking about the England side then they have appeared in the finals more than the Kiwis with England in 1979, 1987, 1992, 2019 and Kiwis reached just their second world cup final and why we are mentioning this because in this four appearances England were runner-up’s in first three attempts and from it nobody in the England side made a performance worth winning Man of the Match in world cup finals but yesterday Stokes heroics not only made him won this award for the first time for England but also made him a national hero.

Now we know that New Zealand lost the world cup to England in boundary counts but do you how many both teams scored?
Runner-up New Zealand scored a total of 16 boundaries and campions England scored 8 more with 24 boundaries and both nations scored only two sixes each.

The country who introduced this beautiful sport in 15th July, 1909 to the world have finally won this tournament at home and that to in Lords.
England as a whole (Men’s team and Women’s team) are now back to back champions with England women’s team winning the women’s cricket world cup in 2017 and one year later England men’s cricket team won this auspicious trophy for the first time ever.

Image Courtesy: Reuters UK and link from where the image is taken from is given below-

Follow us on our Social Media Pages of DKT Sports:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com

Copyright © 2015 DKT Sports. All Rights Reserved.  |  Sitemap